The third edition of RO.ME Museum Exhibition, the professional and international platform for institutions and companies operating in museums, culture and art, in a renewed format, under the patronage of the UNESCO Italian National Commission, launches the “Santagata Foundation Award”, addressed to sustainable development projects realized between 2019 and 2020, and conferred by a scientific committee coordinated by the Santagata Foundation for the Economics of Culture.

The award aims at providing visibility and recognition to a sustainable development project, in line with the Goals of the United Nations 2030 Agenda, implemented or launched within an Italian territory or community with UNESCO designation.

The winner of the Award, selected by a Scientific Committee identified by Fondazione Santagata, will be invited to participate in the opening ceremony of the third edition of RO.ME Museum Exhibition, scheduled for Wednesday 25 November 2020, during which the project will be presented.



The Award will be conferred by RO.ME, in collaboration with Fondazione Santagata for the Economics of Culture, to projects realized in territories or communities included in one of the following five UNESCO designations:

  • World Heritage
  • Intangible Cultural Heritage
  • Creative Cities
  • Biosphere Reserves
  • Global Geoparks

For the selection of the winner, the Scientific Committee will consider those projects that in 2019/2020 were able to meet the following general criteria:

1. Ability to generate impacts on sustainable development, in particular in a cultural and economic way, of the territories / communities they are part of;
2. Consistency with one or more Goals of the United Nations 2030 Agenda;
3. Use of elements of technological and / or process innovation;
4. Ability to foster the active involvement of local communities;
5. Ability to foster resilience and adaptation in crisis situations;
6. Ability to build collaborative networks between designations, even if different.


Martha Friel, IULM Libera Università di Lingue e Comunicazione
Alessia Mariotti, Alma Mater Studiorum Università di Bologna
Alessio Re, Fondazione Santagata per l’Economia della Cultura
Matteo Rosati, Ufficio UNESCO per la Scienza e la Cultura in Europa
Donatella Saccone, Università di Scienze Gastronomiche di Pollenzo
Erminia Sciacchitano, Ministero per i Beni Culturali e per il Turismo
Giovanna Segre, Università degli Studi di Torino
Enrico Vicenti, Segretario Generale Commissione Nazionale Italiana UNESCO


Projects should apply to the Award by sending a short presentation to the e-mail address from 5 October to 8 November 2020.

The winner of the prize will be selected and contacted by November 15th 2020.